:: Tribal Welfare Department - Government Of Andhra Pradesh ::

AP Tribes Advisory Council (APTAC)

As per Para 4 of the 5th schedule of the Constitution, Tribes Advisory Council is to be constituted in the State. The AP TAC shall be convened not less than two times a year and it gives its advice on the matters of tribal interest as and when sought by Govt. of AP. The AP TAC was constituted by the Government of AP by G.O.MS.No.84 dated 25-09-2017 with 20 members of which 5 are official members, 7 are non-official members and 8 are nominated members.

As per G.O.MS.No.92 TW (Edu-1) Dept. dated 24-07-2019, Official Members are 1. Minister for Tribal Welfare: Chairperson, 2. Spl. C.S/Prl. Secretary/Secretary to Govt., Tribal Welfare: Member, 3. Director of SCs & STs, Govt. Of India: Member, 4. Mission Director, TCR&TM, Visakhapatnam: Member, 5. Director/Commissioner of Tribal Welfare, A.P., Vijayawada, Member Secretary.

The APTAC convened its meetings of 108 to 112th Meetings as of now in the residuary State of Andhra Pradesh.

Prevention of Atrocities Act, 1989

The Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes (Prevention of Atrocities) Act, 1989 No. 33 OF 1989 [11th September 1989.] An Act to prevent the commission of offenses of atrocities against the members of the Scheduled Castes and the Scheduled Tribes, to provide for Special Courts for the trial of such offenses and for the relief and rehabilitation of the victims of such offenses and for matters connected therewith or incidental thereto.